The Highlight Reel:01-07 February

Booze

Another week of limited boozing, albeit with a bit of Super Bowl and finished-a-ton-of-projects indulgence on Sunday.  On a related note, I made some progress on the long-term project of drastically reducing the number of open whiskey bottles that had accumulated over the previous year.  Hooray, me!  Although I may have opened two others…oops.  At least I took a pretty picture

IMAG1475

Food

We made a couple of The Missus’ tried and loved recipes this week, both of which came together nicely.

Pesto Pasta with Sun-dried Tomatoes and Roasted Asparagus
IMAG1468

One-Skillet Mac and Cheese with Sausage and Bell Peppers (sorry, no photo)

In addition, we experimented with a new recipe, BLT grilled cheese, and were quite satisfied with the outcome.
IMAG1460

I also made my famous-among-friends oatmeal raisin cookies for a work thing but somehow forgot to document any of it.  I’m a failure as a food blogger, essentially.  Guess I’ll have to make more.

Fitness

Evidently, I can’t do three straight days of hard workouts combined with a lot of time on my feet and come away feeling refreshed.  Who knew?

Yes, this was a week to remind me that I’m human.  I actually heeded my body’s advice this time and kept to easy efforts until I felt ready for a real workout.  To my utter amazement, the world kept turning, and I didn’t suddenly get fat!  Rest may go against my very nature, but it’s not actually a bad thing.

Life

As alluded to above, huge headway on the honey-do list.

  1. Refinish our cabinet? Check!  
    IMAG1484
  2. Hang the crates that The Missus stained?  Check!  
    IMAG1490
  3. Caulk in new doorway?  Check!  
  4. Install bike rack?  Check!  
  5. Hang decorative lights?  Yeah, that too, and all over the weekend!
Leave a Reply

