Looking Ahead: My 2016 Goals

“We would accomplish many more things if we did not think of them as impossible.” – C. Malesherbes

Like many people, I make a list of personal goals each year.  Generally, I share them only with those closest to me, but I’m doing something a little different this time around.  In the interest of accountability, I’m sharing this with anyone who cares to listen/read, and I’ll be checking in occasionally to let everyone (myself included) know how I’m doing.

Most of these goals keep to the SMART (Specific, Measurable, Actionable, Realistic, and Timely) philosophy.  Some (see items four and six) are more nebulous but still fall into the quasi-measurable “I know it when I see it” bucket.  All of them are important enough (to me) to bother writing down. So without further ado, here’s the list.

Edward’s 2016 Goals and Aspirations

  1. Run another marathon, barring injury*
  2. Climb Mt. Ranier (scheduled for September!)
  3. Bike the length of the C&O Canal (ideally in one day)
  4. Add appreciably to my max deadlift, squat, and bench
  5. Read (not listen to) at least two books*
  6. Develop conversational proficiency in Spanish
  7. Donate any clothing I haven’t worn in the previous six months and generally maintain a low-clutter home
  8. Cook at least one new recipe every two weeks*
  9. Create at least six recipes of my own.
  10. Write at least one blog post per week (hopefully about some of those recipes)

There are other things I’d like to accomplish, and I won’t rule out adding to the list, but I think 10 is good for now.  It’s sufficiently numerous as to be (look?) challenging while not so many items as to be overwhelming or filled with drivel.  And everyone loves things that come in tens, right?

What do you have planned for the coming year?

* I welcome your suggestions on these items

Leave a Reply

